Most criminal background check information requires the payment of a fee to obtain a certified copy. There are several governmental agencies and commerical businesses that can supply this information.
Countywide
To get a single-county criminal record check for yourself or others, contact the Clerk of Superior Court's Office within the county where the person resides. You will be asked to complete form AOC-CR-314 and submit a $25 payment to obtain a certified copy. To obtain the same information without paying for a certified copy, you may visit the county Clerk of Superior Court's Office to view the information on a computer terminal.
Statewide
To get a statewide criminal background check on yourself, you must submit a fingerprint card and $14 to the State Bureau of Investigation. This is commonly called a "right to review" check. Details on how to do this are available at the N.C. Dept. of Justice website at
https://ncsbi.gov/Services/SBI-Forms.aspx
Commercial Background Checks
There are several internet-based businesses that will complete N.C. Background checks for a fee. They include: www.searchsystems.net and www.123.nc.com.
Under federal law, individuals are entitled to one free credit report per year from each of the big three credit reporting agencies-Equifax, Transunion, and Experian. This is a general credit report that does not include a numerical credit score. The free reports are available so that consumers can monitor for inaccurate items that might negatively impact creditworthiness. You may apply for the free credit report for yourself online at www.annualcreditreport.com You will be asked several questions about past creditors in order to confirm your identity.
The North Carolina Administrative Office of the Courts contains an Alamance County Criminal Court calendar for the next 10 days and an Alamance County Civil Court Calendar that covers 3-4 weeks. The criminal court calendar may be found at https://www1.aoc.state.nc.us/www/calendars/Criminal.html and the civil court calendar may be found at https://www1.aoc.state.nc.us/www/calendars/Civil.html
The North Carolina Sex Offender Registry includes individuals who have been convicted of an offense against a minor since 1998 and individuals who have been convicted of a sexually violent offense since 1996. The registry may be searched by name, street address, or lattitude and longitude (GPS coordinates). You may search the registry at https://sexoffender.ncsbi.gov/ Many records include a color picture and physical description of the sex offender.
State prison records for current inmates and past incarcerations are available from the North Carolina Department of Corrections at https://www.doc.state.nc.us/offenders/ They are searchable by inmate name or offender number.
Federal Prison records for current inmates are available at the Federal Bureau of Prisons website at https://www.bop.gov/iloc2/LocateInmate.jsp They are searchable by inmate name or offender number.
You may request your N.C. driving record online from the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles. There is a fee for this information. If the request is for your insurer or employer, you should request a certified copy. If the request is for your own records, you may request a non-certified copy, which is not as expensive. The N.C. driving record will contain the following information: The driving record contains the following pertinent information:
You may order it at the following website: https://edmv.ncdot.gov/DrivingRecords
If you need a copy of a local traffic accident report, you may request it online for specific jurisdictions at https://www.policereports.us/ Traffic accident reports are currently available at this webiste for the municipalities of Burlington, Graham, and Elon. There is also some information on accident reports from the N.C. Highway Patrol, but this is most easily searchable if you were involved in the accident.
Alamance County Public Libraries provide free and open access to lifelong learning, resources for everyday living, and reading for pleasure in a welcoming environment. Our collections, services and programs enhance the quality of life for individuals, families, and communities. Contact the Library webmaster.
Alamance County Public Libraries operates as a Department of Alamance County Government. Visit the Alamance County Website at www.alamance-nc.com.