MasterFILE Premier offers a vast collection of magazines and journals on business and more MasterFILE Premier.
What is MasterFILE Premier? MasterFILE Premier is a comprehensive research database provided by EBSCO (via NC LIVE) that contains thousands of full-text magazines, trade journals, and reference publications. It covers a wide range of subjects – including a robust selection of business, finance, and management magazines – as well as topics like health, education, science, and culture. In fact, MasterFILE Premier includes many complete articles from more than 1,500 periodicals dating back to 1990. This means entrepreneurs and nonprofit professionals can find everything from industry news to consumer trends and scholarly insights in one place.
Why is it valuable for business and nonprofit users? MasterFILE Premier is like having a library of Business Week, Forbes, Harvard Business Review, and more at your fingertips. For a small business owner or nonprofit leader, staying informed about market trends, management techniques, and economic forecasts is crucial. MasterFILE Premier’s breadth of content ensures you can read up on market research, leadership tips, and even niche topics relevant to your field. The sources are reputable – including peer-reviewed journals and established magazines – so you’re getting reliable information to inform your decisions. Whether you’re writing a business plan or a grant proposal, you can quickly gather supporting facts and context (e.g. finding an article on small business marketing trends or the latest data on charitable giving).
How to use MasterFILE Premier effectively:
Access and Search Smart: Log in through your library or NC LIVE portal (you’ll need your library card if accessing remotely). Start with a keyword search related to your question (for example, “social media marketing small business” or “nonprofit fundraising strategies”). MasterFILE Premier’s interface lets you filter results by publication type (magazines, academic journals, etc.) and date. Use these filters to narrow to recent articles or to industry-specific magazines for targeted info.
Browse Notable Business Magazines: You can also search within specific titles. For instance, if you want high-level market insight, try searching within Fortune or Bloomberg Businessweek; for small business advice, search Entrepreneur or Inc. magazine. MasterFILE Premier often has full-text articles from such publications. This can save you money on subscriptions and give you archival access to older issues for historical data or case studiesnclive.org.
Leverage Article Tools: Once you find a useful article, MasterFILE Premier provides tools to save, cite, or email the article. This is handy when compiling research for a business plan or report. You can even generate citations automatically – a time-saver for writing proposals or white papers.
Best Practice Example: Suppose you’re preparing a grant application for a community development project. Using MasterFILE Premier, you could search for “urban gardening economic impact” and filter to magazines or journals in the last 5 years. In seconds, you might find a case study in a nonprofit journal or a feature from Entrepreneur about urban agriculture startups. You can read these articles for insights and pull key facts to strengthen your proposal.
Tone and Practical Value: MasterFILE Premier turns a world of business intelligence into an easily searchable format. Busy professionals will appreciate how straightforward it is to find actionable information – whether it’s a quick statistic for a pitch deck or a deep dive into industry analysis. By regularly exploring this database, entrepreneurs can stay ahead of trends and nonprofit managers can back up their strategies with data-driven evidence. In short, MasterFILE Premier is an essential, user-friendly tool to keep in your arsenal for research-driven success.
Official Access: Alamance County Public Library cardholders can access MasterFILE Premier through NC LIVE (no extra cost). Explore MasterFILE Premier via NC LIVE and unlock a trove of business knowledge today! MasterFile Premier
Wishing you success,
Tyler