Business & Non-Profit - LibGuides at Alamance County Public Libraries

Local & State Resources

Alamance Community College Small Business Center
Alamance County Area Chamber of Commerce
Business Link North Carolina - Provides information on planning, starting, and maintaining business in NC. Also offers free consultations, referrals, and more.
N.C. Employment Security Commission
N.C. Office of State Personnel
NC Secretary of State Incorporations Database - Find businesses incorporated in North Carolina.
N.C. Small Business & Technology Development Center
Triad Business Journal
U.S. Bureau of the Census

Investing Resources

American Association of Individual Investors
CNN Money - Market Information Section
Kiplinger Magazine
Marketwatch Big Charts - historical stock quotes by Ticker Symbol
Morningstar Investment Research Center - Provides in-depth research and analysis for investment purposes.

National Resources

American Factfinder - Federal government demographic and statistical portal.
Bank Rate Monitor - Current interest rates and loan calculators.
Doing Business - Rates the business climate in 189 economies worldwide
FRED - Economic Data from the St. Louis Federal Reserve Bank - Database of over 382,000 economic time series from 82 sources.
Hoover's Company Profiles - Database containing information on companies, industries, and executives. Provides in-depth analysis, histories, and more.
OneSource
S.E.C. EDGAR - U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission Corporate Filings.
Score.org - Start-up advice for small business and help finding business mentors.
The United States Patent and Trademark Office - Site of the The United States Patent and Trademark Office.
U.S. Bureau of the Census
U.S. Census Bureau Local Employment Dynamics - Local labor market statistical information within the United States.
U.S. Small Business Administration

Recent Posts

Unlock Your Business’s Potential with SCORE Mentorship

Starting a business is tough, but with SCORE’s free mentorship program, you get expert guidance, valuable connections, and personalized support to help your business thrive. Unlock your potential and set your business up for success with SCORE today!...

Streamline Your Success: Simplify Legal Documents for Your Business or Nonprofit with Nuwav.

Managing legal documentation is essential for any business or nonprofit, but it can be time-consuming and costly. Fortunately, Nuwav Legal Documents offers a free, library card-accessible service that simplifies the process by providing customizable, easy-to-use legal templates. Here’s how Nuwav Legal Documents can be a valuable asset to your organization.Simple and User-Friendly DesignOne of the standout features of Nuwav Legal Documents is the website’s intuitive design. It’s easy to navigate and allows you to select from a variety of templates, where you can simply fill in your specific information. This simplicity makes it accessible for anyone, regardless of legal experience, and speeds up the process of creating the documents you need.Link to Nuwav Legal DocumentsKey Documents You Can Access1. TransactionsNuwav helps you create essential documents for transactions, such as:Bill of Sale for transferring ownershipWarranties to outline product/service guaranteesReceipts for payment documentationAffidavits for verifying important factsThese templates ensure your transactions are clear, organized, and legally sound.2. ContractsNuwav makes it easy to generate legally binding contracts, including:Construction ContractsConsulting ContractsService ContractsVendor Agreements for eventsTermination of ContractThese documents provide clarity on responsibilities and expectations, offering protection for your organization.3. OperationsManaging employee relations and internal processes is a breeze with templates like:Performance EvaluationsWarning/Rejection LettersTermination of EmploymentThese templates help you handle HR matters efficiently and in compliance with legal standards.4. Protection FormsProtecting your business and personal information is key. With Nuwav, you can easily generate forms like:Settlement Agreement and Mutual Release of ClaimsCopyright Cease and Desist LetterNon-Disclosure AgreementActivity Waiver and Release of LiabilityConsent for Background/Reference ChecksEmployee Confidentiality AgreementsThese forms help ensure legal protection, covering everything from intellectual property to liability and privacy concerns.5. Additional DocumentsNuwav also offers templates for important documents, including:Receipt for PaymentSalary Verification LetterGeneral Partnership AgreementThese additional templates, and more, help you manage business and financial transactions with ease.Why It’s ValuableLegal documents are often complex and expensive to create, but with Nuwav, you have access to a library of customizable templates—free with your library card. This service saves time, money, and resources, while ensuring your organization is always protected and operating legally.Nuwav Legal Documents is more than just a tool—it’s a powerful resource that empowers businesses and nonprofits to operate with efficiency, confidence, and legal clarity. By eliminating the guesswork and providing easy access to essential legal templates, Nuwav helps your organization stay protected and compliant while saving time and money. Whether you’re handling contracts, transactions, or employee matters, Nuwav is the reliable, cost-effective solution that ensures your legal documents are always in order.Link to Nuwav Legal Documents ...

About Data Axle (formerly Reference USA)

10 Searchable Databases• U.S. Businesses• U.S. Historical Businesses from 2003 to present• Canadian Businesses• U.S. Jobs/Internships• U.S. New Businesses• Physicians and Dentists in U.S. Healthcare• U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles• U.S. New Movers and Homeowners• U.S. Standard White Pages• Canadian White PagesData Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new windowHelps users of all kinds search for jobs, research U.S. businesses, create marketing and small business plans, locate specific people and more. Did you know there's an app too? Get it today!Here's how:1. On your mobile device, navigateto the App Store® (iOS) or Google Play™ (Android) application icon.2. Search for Data Axle Reference Solutions application and download it on your mobile device.3. Click the Data Axle Reference Solutions icon on your mobile device.4. Enter your library’s 5-digit ZIP Code, and then click Find Library.5. Select your library in the list.iOS: Scroll to your library, and then click Done.Android: Select a library from the list.6. Enter your library card number, and then select Remember Me(optional).7. Click Proceed.You are now logged into the application on your mobile device.https://referencesolutions.data-axle.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/07/bookmark-mobile-app.pdf...

Business Periodicals

Here are some business periodicals that can be found electronically or at the library. Electronic access requires your library card and PIN.Barron'sNewspaper WebsiteBloomberg BusinessweekMagazine WebsiteBusiness North CarolinaMagazine WebsiteBusiness TodayLibby Electronic AccessConsumer ReportsAsk for this at the reference desk.Library Catalog (In-Library Use Only)Magazine WebsiteNC Live Magazine AccessThe EconomistMagazine WebsiteEntrepreneur Libby Electronic AccessForbesLibrary Catalog - PrintMagazine WebsiteFortuneLibrary Catalog - PrintHome Business MagazineLibby Electronic AccessInc.Magazine WebsiteLibby Electronic AccessInvestor's Business DailyNewspaper WebsiteKiplinger's Personal FinanceLibby Electronic AccessLibrary Catalog - PrintMagazine WebsiteMoneyLibby Electronic AccessMagazine WebsiteStart Your Business NowLibby Electronic AccessTriad Business JournalNewspaper WebsiteValue Line (In-Library only)Electronic Library AccessWebsiteWall Street JournalLibrary Catalog - PrintMagazine WebsiteLibby offers access to many other business magazines! Find them all here: https://alamancelibraries.overdrive.com/library/magazines/search?query=business&page=1&sortBy=relevance&mediaType=magazine&mediaTypes=magazine ...

Business Resources

Local & State Resources

Investing Resources

National Resources

Leave a comment