The Business Collection
Business and manufacturing guides and directories suited to the needs of jobseekers, investors, entrepreneurs, small businesspeople, students, and other interested parties are available for use in the Reference Department of May Memorial Library.
Current newsbriefs on Alamance County business are available through The Business Journal.
NC LIVE provides access to a variety of business databases including ABI/Inform, Proquest Business Market Research Collection, and Data Axle (formerly Business Reference USA)
Investment Information
To meet the needs of investors, May Memorial Library subscribes to print editions of Value Line Investment Survey, Standard & Poor’s Outlook, S&P’s Security Owners Stock Guide, the Wall Street Journal, Barron’s, Investor’s Business Weekly and several business and financial magazines. Investment databases available online via NCLive include Morningstar and the Investment Research Center
Job Information
Computer printouts of local job listings from the Employment Security Commission and the Office of State Personnel are updated weekly for perusal in the library by those seeking employment. Computers are available to library card holders to access the Internet for employment research and to type resumes.
Small Business Information
For small businesspeople and entrepreneurs, the May Memorial library carries Small Business Sourcebook, a guide to information on starting specific businesses. Also available are leaflets from the U.S. Small Business Administration, and several sources on capital opportunities, grants, and loans for small business.
Marketing Information
Those interested in marketing and demographics will find pertinent information in numerous publications of the U.S. Bureau of the Census.
Legal Information
May Memorial Library carries only limited information on international business and federal and state law. Resources available online include The United States Code, the North Carolina General Statutes, and the Burlington, North Carolina Municipal Code. No state legal reporters or state case law are present in the collection.
Other Resources
The library does not maintain a print telephone book collection. Find residential listings and commercial listings within the United States using Data Axle "white pages" and business "yellow pages" listings.
Books
There are various titles in our circulating collection related to grant-seeking, proposal writing, and governance and administration of nonprofits. The library no longer subscribes to the Foundation Directory online, but there are numerous free websites that might be helpful to funding, managing, or administering a nonprofit.
|
Helpful Websites NC Center for Nonprofits Free Resources
Federal Government Funded Projects/Programs Info on 1,000+ grant programs distributing more than $400 billion in annual awards
Guidestar Basic Access Free directory type information on US non-profits
|
Alamance County Public Libraries provide free and open access to lifelong learning, resources for everyday living, and reading for pleasure in a welcoming environment. Our collections, services and programs enhance the quality of life for individuals, families, and communities. Contact the Library webmaster.
Alamance County Public Libraries operates as a Department of Alamance County Government. Visit the Alamance County Website at www.alamance-nc.com.