This is the "Business Collection" page of the "Business and Non-Profit Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Apr 29, 2016 URL: http://alamancelibraries.libguides.com/businessnonprofit Print Guide RSS Updates

Business Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About the Business Section

The Business Collection at May Memorial Library

Business and manufacturing guides and directories suited to the needs of jobseekers, investors, entrepreneurs, small businesspeople, students, and other interested parties are available for use in the Reference Department of  May Memorial Library.

Local business resources include Dun and Bradstreet’s Regional Business Directory for the Charlotte/greater Greensboro area and several North Carolina business and manufacturing directories. Current newsbriefs on Alamance County business are available through The Business Journal.

Information on businesses throughout the United States is found in Ward’s Business Directory, Dun and Bradstreets’ Million Dollar Directory, Standard and Poor’s Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives and The International Directory of Company Histories.

NC LIVE provides access to a variety of business databases including Business Link North Carolina, Hoover's Company Profiles, Morningstar Investment Research Center, Reference USA, and OneSource.

Investment Information

To meet the needs of investors, May Memorial Library subscribes to Value Line Investment Survey, Morningstar Mutual Funds, Standard & Poor’s Outlook, S&P’s Security Owners Stock Guide,  the Handbook of Common Stocks, the Wall Street Journal, Barron’s, Investor’s Business Daily and several investment magazines.

Job Information

Computer printouts of local job listings from the Employment Security Commission and the Office of State Personnel are updated weekly for perusal in the library by those seeking employment. Computers are available to library card holders to access the Internet for employment research and to type resumes.

Small Business Information

For small businesspeople and entrepreneurs, the May Memorial library carries Small Business Sourcebook, a guide to information on starting specific businesses. Also available are leaflets from the U.S. Small Business Administration, and several sources on capital opportunities, grants, and loans for small business.

Marketing Information

Those interested in marketing and demographics will find pertinent information in numerous publications of the U.S. Bureau of the Census.  A demographics mapping utility called Simply Map is available among the NC Live business databases.  Key economic indicators and financial ratios are to be found in The Monthly Labor Review, Economic Indicators newsletter, and The Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios.

Legal Information

May Memorial Library carries only limited information on international business and federal and state law.  Resources available online include The United States Code, the North Carolina General Statutes, and the Burlington, North Carolina Municipal Code. No state legal reporters or state case law are present in the collection.

Other Resources

May Memorial Library maintains a small collection of telephone directories for North Carolina cities... Additional telephone directory information is available on the web at  www.switchboard.com.

 

About the Nonprofit Resource Center

Nonprofit Resource Center at May Memorial Library
LIB-MM-Nonprofit_Resource_Center

Our Mission

The Nonprofit Resource Center at May Memorial Library is a special collection of how-to books, directories, and computer resources designed to assist local nonprofits to find additional sources of financial support and strengthen their operations.

Books & Directories

The nonprofit collection includes items about grantwriting, proposal development, fundraising, financial management, marketing, and leadership strategies.  Aside from a small number of noncirculating directories, most material in the Nonprofit Resource Center may be checked out for 3 weeks using an Alamance County Public Libraries card.

Online Subscriptions

Foundation Directory Online
http://fconline.foundationcenter.org/

NC Center for Nonprofits
www.ncnonprofits.org

 

Alamance County Public Libraries

ACPL logoAlamance County Public Libraries provide free and open access to lifelong learning, resources for everyday living, and reading for pleasure in a welcoming environment.  Our collections, services and programs enhance the quality of life for individuals, families, and communities.  Contact the Library webmaster.

AC SealAlamance County Public Libraries operates as a Department of Alamance County Government.  Visit the Alamance County Website at www.alamance-nc.com

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip